Drake – So Far Gone

so-far-gone-front-cover

Before I head to D.C. this weekend to see Drake live on stage, I had to throw up what will turn out to be one of the best albums of ’09.  Drake takes his game to a whole new level on So Far Gone, and it looks like the world is about to take notice.

Best I Ever Had is getting national spins, but the way this album kicks off is on some other shit.  Drake can say it better than me:

It’s basically a story. It starts in January 2008 when I was kinda confused like, What am I really doing? I gave up acting all together to really do this music thing, and I was really truly confused. It’s way different than acting, there aren’t people to depend on, you really have to build your own thing basically from the ground up, you know, so in January not only was I confused about my career, I was also in a very destructive sort of us exhausting relationship with a female and it was just a bad headspace for me to be in. So that’s where the tape starts.

It starts with this monologue, “Lust For Life”, of me crying out, in my head the things that I never say. The things that I was just thinking, that was my mindset. Then it goes to “Houstatlantavegas” which is about what I felt about the girl I was with. I just felt that nothing was ever good enough, and she was always searching for more excitement and then we move into “Successful.” I say at the end of the song, “There are so many things I want to say but I just don’t know how to say it to you.” I know exactly what I want to say, you know, I just want to be successful, but I don’t know if I can do it with you and then it goes into “Let’s Call It Off,” which is the breakup. And then coincidentally when I broke up with that girl a week later I went to Houston and met Lil Wayne and that’s where “November 18″ comes from.

sofargonebackfinal1

http://www.zshare.net/download/596909956c1e13d5

~ by espozita on May 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
